The Tonga Electoral Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 2010 (the Electoral Commission Act) and has responsibility for the orderly conduct of local and parliamentary elections, maintaining the electoral process and electoral role, dissemination of information about elections and encouraging informed public participation.

Under legislation, the Commission has three appointed Commissioners, the Chairman, an appointee selected by H.M. the King and the Supervisor of Elections. In addition to these three Commissioners, there are eight permanent roles and at election time, hundreds of volunteers.